Arne Næss Chair

We award the annual Arne Næss Chair to a scholar of international renown. The Arne Næss Chair is offered a stipend to spend up to two weeks at the University of Oslo, engaging with scholars, students and the public at large.

Image may contain: Tie, Chin, Forehead, Black-and-white.

Professor Anthony Giddens - currently Life Fellow at King’s College, Cambridge and the member of the House of Lords - is one of the most prominent sociologists of our time.

We are proud to announce that the 2019 Arne Næss Professor is Eva Joly! Eva is acclaimed for her work in anti-corruption, financial crime and money laundering. She is also Green MEP for Europe Ecologie/Les Verts.

Image may contain: Face, Head, Smile, Chin, Cheek.

Mary Evelyn Tucker is Senior Lecturer and Research Scholar at Yale University where she has appointments in the School of Forestry and Environmental Studies as well as the Divinity School and the Department of Religious Studies.

Eduardo Gudynas is the 2016 Arne Næss Professor in Global Justice and the Environment. / Eduardo Gudynas es nombrado Profesor Arne Naess en Justicia Global y el Ambiente en 2016

Sloan Wilson is a distinguished professor of evolutionary sciences and anthropology at SUNY / Binghamton University, and America's leading evolutionary biologist.