The Arne Naess Chair in Global Justice and the Environment was initiated by Research  Professor Nina Witoszek at the Centre for Development and the Environment (SUM) at the University of Oslo in 2007. The Chair - originally supervised by a board of directors – is now run by Nina Witoszek (programme director) and Ingebjørg Torgersen (administrative director).  In 2012, the Arne Naess Advisory Council was established as a “think tank” to plan and evaluate ANC activities and annual symposia.

Active Members of the Arne Naess Council

  • Kit Fai Næss, Arne Næss widow and archivist
  • Inga Bostad, former Vice Rector, UiO
  • Alida Jay Boye, diplomat,  former Project Coordinator at SUM
  • Atle Midttun, Professor, Norwegian School of Management
  • Martin Lee Muller, PhD student, SUM
  • Larissa Standie,  former master student, SUM
  • Kim Erikson, master student at the Law Department, UiO
  • Morten Kroglund, Development Fund
  • Jan Sundt, green entrepreneur
  • Michael Knagenhjelm, green enterpreneur
  • Lars Pharo, post-doctoral student, SUM
  • Tove Dyblie, City Council
  • Per Espen Stoknes, professor, BI
  • Polly Higgins, environmental lawyer, London
  • Kristi Anne Stølen, Director,  SUM
  • Einar Steensnæs, Oslo Center for Peace and Human Rights


Affilianted advisors:

  • Hans Christian Bugge, Professor, Law Department, UiO
  • Thomas Hylland Eriksen, Professor, Anthropology, UiO
  • Jostein Gaarder, writer
  • Pere Egil Hegge, journalist
  • William Nygard, publisher
  • Eva Joly, lawyer and judge
  • Nils Christian Stenseth, director, The Norwegian Academy of Science